Joey pixelation

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Jamie57, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Jamie57

    Jamie57 Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    China Grove, North Carolina, United States
    I have a Hopper 3 with 3 Joey 2s. Recently all of the Joey's are getting heavy pixelation about every hour, channel doesn't matter. Only way to fix them is a reset then repeat when pixelation starts again. They are giving no moca errors that I see. Hopper works flawlessly always. Could the solo hub be going bad or something else? Any help is appreciated, this problem is getting pretty annoying.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. vipul128

    vipul128 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm having the same problem with my 4k Joey and Joey 3's tonight. Others in the house said it's happened in the past too. Completely unwatchable on any channel with freezes and pixelation. Weather is clear outside. I'd be interested in knowing the fix also.
     
  3. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Do you have an OTA Antenna connected to your Hopper?
     
  4. lgb0250

    lgb0250 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    67
    I’ve had the same problem over the last week. I’ve been noticing the most on HGTV.
     
  5. Jamie57

    Jamie57 Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    China Grove, North Carolina, United States
    Yes, I do. The newest dual ota module.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  6. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Try unplugging it from the Hopper when the Joeys are pixelating and see if that clears them up. If it does, the adapter is over heating
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  7. Jamie57

    Jamie57 Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    China Grove, North Carolina, United States
    I will try that tonight. So, if it does fix it does that mean this new $60 adapter that I just got 3 months ago is junk?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  8. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Not necessarily, you may just need to provide better ventilation to the adapter. One option is to buy a USB extension cable and move the adapter out from behind the Hopper.
     
    #8 Cheddar_Head, Jan 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
    HipKat and KAB like this.
  9. cpdretired

    cpdretired Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Lemont, Il.
    I have the white Air TV adapter. It's warm but not hot the Joey 3 still pixels but not as much as the original Dish version. This is an ongoing problem that Dish refuses to correct.
     
  10. thomasjk

    thomasjk SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    389
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I also have the Airtv adapter and do not experience any pixelation. Perhaps yours is defective.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    KAB likes this.
  11. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,027
    Likes Received:
    3,352
    Location:
    Indy
    If anything you might have a bad one as previously suggested. The Dish and AirTV adapters are identical on the inside.
     
  12. JeffN9

    JeffN9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Oregon, WI.
    Am I missing something here?? The OP and a couple others said that the channel didn't matter with their pixelation problem. I assumed that meant that both Dish and OTA channels were messing up. My pixelation problem on the Joeys only occurred with OTA channels and completely went away with my new AirTV adapter, even though it is tucked behind the Hopper and not well ventilated.

    This sounds like a different problem.
     
  13. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Hipcat suggested and overheating USB adapter might be the cause of the pixelation issues on non-OTA channels. I was suggesting a way to possibly reduce the overheating issue.
     
  14. JeffN9

    JeffN9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Oregon, WI.
    Ok, it will be interesting to see if that is the problem. All I know is that the old dual tuner adapter got very hot but I don't remember anyone saying that they had a problem with the Dish channels, only OTA.
     
  15. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,027
    Likes Received:
    3,352
    Location:
    Indy
    Nobody ever did, until Hipkap started the theory, which I disagree with. He reacts before he has all the facts.
     
  16. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I have the Lark with no pixelation, but like Cheddar_Head said, I used a USB extender so it's hanging unobstructed behind the table that my Hopper is setup on
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    It sure does. Before we got the Larks, yet while we were installing more OTA's everyday than Dish equipment because of the Quincy Media take down, I had a few Trouble Calls for pixelated Joeys on Dish channels and when I'd pull the Adapter out of the USB port ,the Joeys would clear up, instantly
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Umm, really??
     
  19. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,027
    Likes Received:
    3,352
    Location:
    Indy
    Yep.
     
  20. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Anytime you wanna sit down and talk about Trouble shooting Dish systems, which I do every day for a living, I'd be more than happy to oblige
     
    dweber and Bobby like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...