Just scored a C-band dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

netbuilder

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 2, 2007
Missouri
I was driving through the countryside yesterday and noticed that someone had a BUD and a small dish. I figured this might be a perfect candidate to see if this person still wanted their BUD and to my surprise they were going to trash it. So today I'm heading over there to pick it up for FREE.

My question is: what is best way to get this thing going (ie. strongest channels to find first, best way to get my feet wet)?

I've been doing FTA (Ku on small dishes) for a few months now and I already have a Pansat 3500SD fed from a SG2100 motor, to an Ecoda 22khz, into two 4X1 diseqc switches (1 for linear LNBFs and 1 for circular LNBFs) with 2 dishes (dish 1 motorized - 1 circular and 1 linear LNBF, dish 2 fixed - 3 circular and 1 linear LNBFs).

I was thinking about putting the Ecoda in front of BOTH dish motors (C and Ku) and use 1 switch for linear LNBFs and the other switch for circular LNBFs and the new/old BUD LNBF.

Any suggestions?

Also, I went to a flea market and found several .74m DirecWay dishes with skew with all the trimmings if anyone is interested I can get details in purchasing one (brand new in box) as I am thinking about buying one myself.

Congrats on finding the big dish. - :up
That is certainly the right price!

That Pansat 3500 you have, should run the corotor on the LNB just dandy.
How were you going to move the motor? Get a Vbox?
Or did the guy give you a C-band receiver to go with the dish?
(they usually have motor power and controller built-in)

If the LNB is missing, dead, or otherwise incapacitated, you might catch an LNBF from SatAV.
He's got a dual-band unit in his Black Friday sale thread , good through the 3rd.
To see info on installing one and giving it a serious tuneup, there's a thread in the BUD section by Linuxman.

You might update on the User CP (control panel) to show your location.