Keeping rain fade to a minimum

Status
Please reply by conversation.

tvropro

On Vacation
Original poster
Mar 9, 2007
I'm new to Direct but not c and ku band. Wanted to share my idea and solutions I did to minimize rain fade.

I currently only have SD with a D-11 but the idea's can also be used for HD with multiple satellites.

First thing I did was install a Slimline dish vs the 18" and modified the feed support to handle the single 18" LNBF.

Next I peaked the dish for maximum signal on all active transponders. 95 to 100 signal I'm showing.

Then I built a lnbf rain hood to shield the lnbf from rain drops getting on the lnbf lens. I used a paint can top for the hood and attached it to the lnbf (see pictures)

In theory the drops of water on the lens and clouds saturated with moisture cause the most attenuation on the k band signals.

So far pretty good results. Those who like to tinker may want to try some stuff themselves.

Attachments

• RH1.jpg
    RH1.jpg
    124 KB · Views: 418
  • SLRH1.jpg
    SLRH1.jpg
    266.9 KB · Views: 427
  • SLRH2.jpg
    SLRH2.jpg
    154.4 KB · Views: 402
I'm new to Direct but not c and ku band. Wanted to share my idea and solutions I did to minimize rain fade.

I currently only have SD with a D-11 but the idea's can also be used for HD with multiple satellites.

First thing I did was install a Slimline dish vs the 18" and modified the feed support to handle the single 18" LNBF.

Next I peaked the dish for maximum signal on all active transponders. 95 to 100 signal I'm showing.

Then I built a lnbf rain hood to shield the lnbf from rain drops getting on the lnbf lens. I used a paint can top for the hood and attached it to the lnbf (see pictures)

In theory the drops of water on the lens and clouds saturated with moisture cause the most attenuation on the k band signals.

So far pretty good results. Those who like to tinker may want to try some stuff themselves.