ku Orthomode Feed Assembly question

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jduffin

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jul 7, 2007
Salt Lake City, Utah
I have a spare 1m Channel Master commercial-grade ku dish that I would like to set up as a orthomode (2 LNB, one for H and one for V) feed configuration. I have done a fair amount of research on the internet, but can't seem to find a reasonably priced RX-only "T" adapter that will allow me to do this. So, my question is will a OMT (ortho-mode transducer) assembly that is designed for TX/RX applications work?

Here is one in particular on *bay that I was considering: http://www.ebay.com/itm/271104509832?_trksid=p5197.c0.m619

It seems like I would just need to remove the transmit filter (between the side port and the elbow), re-attach the elbow to the "T" and then bolt on my LNBs. Any reason why this wouldn't work?

One concern that I have is that the TX and RX frequencies for these OMTs are different. I would think that this could affect the inner waveguide dimensions and that they might be different. However, if both ports are WR-75 waveguides, then the dimensions *should* be the same and it should just work.

Has anyone done this? Comments?

It seems like I would just need to remove the transmit filter (between the side port and the elbow), re-attach the elbow to the "T" and then bolt on my LNBs. Any reason why this wouldn't work?