Status
Please reply by conversation.

larrchev

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2009
essex county canada
Hello
I just bought a DMX741U lnb with a scalar ring.It came from WS international and they didn't include assembly or setup instructions.I am familiar with DSS and ku band assembly but I am new to C-band.I'm using a rotor with my offset dish and I need to know how far I'm supposed to lock the scalar ring on the lnb.HELP!
Thanks.

if your using a offset dish you might not want to use that scalar ring. I've read
here on this forum that you will get a better signal without it.

What sort of offset dish are you using?
Size and brand.

There are a number of threads on the forum suggesting a conical scalar is preferred for many offset dishes.
However, there was also a post for fine-tuning a flat scalar, but either way the adjustment is critical.

I have a DMX741U motorized from 12.5W to 139W getting most of the C & Ku sats. The scalar that came with it is designed mainly for prime focus dishes. Signals would be marginal on strong sats, and trying to get C & Ku together would require lots of experimentation and modding if you want to continue using the scalar that came with it.
Best would be to use a conical scalar ring with the lnb on your offset dish. Manually move your dish to a strong sat depending on your location like 87W that gives strong C and Ku signals for tweaking.
The dielectric plate (small brown fiberglass piece) is used for reception of circular polarizations, sats like NSS806. You cannot have this in the lnb for linear sats because the signals will be degraded.
I have attached pics using the same lnb, but with a prime focus dish. The O degreee on the lnb should generally be orientated downwards and set to 0 at your true south. Remember this lnb have a diseqc switch built in. Therefore you have to set Port1 "on" for c band, and Port 2 "on" for Ku band signals.

Attachments

• DMX741U-1.jpg
    DMX741U-1.jpg
    271.6 KB · Views: 254