Locals on DirecTV vs DishNetwork

Status
Please reply by conversation.

MuteMango

Original poster
Nov 28, 2008
I'm new to the forum, so please bear with me...

I'm a semi-retired engineer. I travel, for weeks/months at a time... sometimes for fun... sometimes for money.

I would like to get Dallas locals when I travel. I understand that on DishNetwork, the locals will 'follow-me' just about anywhere I go. On DirecTV, once I leave the area of their spot transponders, I will loose the Dallas locals... so I will need to have their Distant Network Service to east/west coast.

Question: Are the DirecTV HD locals broadcast to the CONUS?

Dallas, TX channels are not available in the situation that you describe.

All American Direct offers SD feeds from Atlanta and San Francisco through DISH Network if you have a vehicle (boat, RV, big rig) account.

DIRECTV offers SD and HD feeds of New York and L.A. if you have an vehicle account.

Ever hear of a sling box?? If you can internet connection u can get your locals
This assumes that you have a Slingbox, a suitable computer and a suitable Internet connection at both ends. Most suspend their broadband connections at home if they are gone for months at a time.

DirecTV offers HD Locals for most markets. I like that because, for most people, they don't want to bother with off air antennas to get their locals in HD. Also, if you live 30+miles from the local station tower, your HD reception is weak with an off air antenna. Makes it worthwhile to get your locals on DirecTV satellite.

DirecTV offers HD Locals for most markets.
The problem with the DIRECTV offering is that it typically lacks the also-ran HD stations and PBS. The Ka band signals are also no picnic when the weather gets nasty. Of course if you're travelling, you only get the big four for the East and West Coasts if you have a Ka capable antenna solution and an RV waiver.