Locals over antenna - how to see program info?

darelldd

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 7, 2008
Total Dish newbie here, and nobody at Dish can answer my question:

Yesterday, I had my stuff installed (722 receiver/DVR) and I originally signed up for local HD channels. The tech set everything up, and plugged in my exterior antenna, and I had ALL the local HD channels over the air already! (In other words, the guide listed all my local channels twice - once on air, and one through the sat). When first turned on, the "programing info" was not available for those over-the-air channels. Just said "Digital Service" in every time slot. The tech did something (pressed a few buttons on the remite), and presto - the program info for the air locals downloaded, and they showed up in the guide.. So I could then set up recording by choosing a show.

FF to last night. I called to remove the local sat channels since I could get them for free. Now it seems the programing info is gone again (from the guide). I can watch the channels perfectly, but cannot choose shows to record. I don't know when the Olympics are on my NBC station, for example.

Does anybody know how to get that local channel info back into the guide?? OR am I required to also subscribe to the local channels through Dish to get that info (as I've been told by one CS guy - though none of them have sounded like they even know what I'm talking about)??

Thanks!
- Darell

You need to subscribe to SD locals for you OTA guide to show. You can do DVR advantage which includes them as well as one DVR fee.

If you don't subscribe to locals through satellite, you won't get guide info for them OTA.

You'd have to look in the newspaper or on the internet for the schedules, and set manual timers. Which is more trouble than it's worth.