Locals Question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Deftone

Original poster
Jun 25, 2005
I am new to the satellite world but I am completely fed up with the local cable company so I had DirecTv installed this past week. I am trying to get a Fox, NBC, CBS, or ABC network in my programming. I have submitted the waiver request to DirecTv as locals are not available in my area. I have been told by one DirecTv CSR that this could take 48 hours and from another I heard 45 days. I have heard from different sources that on one hand, this is a waste of time and on the other hand that if my locals are not offered in my area, I will probably get the NY or LA networks. In my reading, I have found that a Terk TV44 is not thought of in very high regard here but I purchased it from Circuit City today and it can be returned within 30 days so I am in luck. My question involves the multi switch. When attempting to install my Terk TV44, I could not find a multi-switch anywhere on my dish. I followed the wire all the way to the wall of my house and just saw two wires together at a connector. (no multi-switch) What are my options for picking up my local channels. I am after convenience with the installation so I need a little help. By the way, I am within 10 miles of both a Fox and NBC antenna. Any help would be appreciated....thanks.