LoS installation issues - how to proceed?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dboyles

Original poster
Mar 6, 2008
Mississippi
I'm a novice to the satellite game, but I'm picking things up pretty quickly as I go along. That said, I don't pretend to be an expert.

I ordered DirecTV and the installer came out today. Nice guy, seemed to have a pretty good idea what he was doing, but he didn't strike me as a seasoned veteran. He surveyed the property and the best he could find was a single spot that still wouldn't work without trimming some tree branches (which is feasible). But really if I'm going to that much trouble I'd prefer to have the dish in a less conspicuous spot. He called his supervisor and I confirmed that he had explained the issues to me, and the installer left. The order was canceled, so I'm not sure how to go from here.

Through my reading here and elsewhere, it seems that most installation techs are generally pretty conservative when it comes to surveying for a mounting location, and that's understandable. At the same time, I feel like an experienced installer could work with me to find a suitable spot and help me minimize the amount of work that I need to do to make it workable.

I'm looking for advice on how to proceed from here. Should I call D*, explain, and ask them to send a supervisor out? Or should I take it upon myself to contact a local installer? A DIY installation isn't entirely out of the question if it wouldn't require $$$ worth of specialized tools, but given my time constraints it may be better left to the pros.

If it helps, my ZIP is 39759 (Starkville, MS), and you can find a picture of the LoS issues here: picklematrix[dot]org/temp/directv_trees[dot]jpg

That picture was taken from my preferred location (give or take), facing south(ish). The installer said that the first satellite would be blocked by the long, tall limb on the left.

Much thanks for any advice!

First off - WELCOME!