lousy locals

dbraman

Original poster
Oct 3, 2005
I recently switched to the dish from cable and love NEARLY everything about it. The one big glitch (other than the lame OnDemand offerings) is the intolerable compression on the local channels. It's jarring how obvious us. I first noticed watching the local football game (the field was practically breathing with compression blocking.) When I flipped over to a different game on ESPN it was fine.

Is this a setup thing, a satellite thing or a DishNetwork thing. I suppose I'll live to learn with it, but I'd love to know what gives.

I thought the same thing as well. I just had my Dish installed on Friday and noticed right away that the locals are horrible looking. To top it all off I have to stretch them across my 16X9 51" HGTV which doens't help matters. I have a Channel Master antenna on its way which will be going into my attic so I can get the OTA HGTV. I had a 942 installed so I already have the hookup on the receiver for it. Hopefully, it will look better.

I to just had my dish installed on Friday and my locals are 100 times better quality than I had on cable. Now i do not have any HD TVs at this point so it may be a HD thing - e* installed a super dish which they said I needed for locals in my area

my locals look fine with the exception of one channel. Fox looks terrible it's soooo dark it's almost unwatchable. I have to switch to over the air to watch fox. I sent the email and never got a response.

locals on an hd tv through E and D leave something to be desired wich is why I think that both companies should provide an antennae instead ( at a price ofcourse ) to provide the locals to the customer better than what they will get through the provider.

Van said: