Low Signal on 99CA Only...

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by TheTechGuru, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Texas
    101 is great, 99CB, 103CA, and 103CB all normal (upper 80's to mid 90's) but 99CA is upper 60's to mid 70's with TP 17 being 52 right now.

    78 73 71 76 76 77 64 73
    52 76 77 76 79 72 76 75

    SWM uses a dedicated link channel for each receiver right? So it can't be a cabling issue as that would affect all of the satellites not just one right? It rained a lot today...
     
  2. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    958
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    There's a common SWiM channel for guide info. centered at 974 MHz. And a common low data rate SWiM control channel cent. at 2.3 MHz for the receivers to communicate commands to the SWiM multiswitch.

    My levels are all normal here on 99(ca).

    Can you temporarily switch receiver locations to check for a possible cabling or LNB issue?

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,448
    Likes Received:
    2,486
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I wouldn’t worry about it if 99cb Is good and 99ca isn’t
     
  4. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Texas
    Um why?! There is a huge chunk of channels I can not watch reliably.

    CNNHD 202
    HLNHD 204
    ESPNHD 206
    ESNHD 207
    ESPN2HD 209
    MLBNHD 213
    NBAHD 216
    TNNSHD 217
    GolfHD 218
    FS1HD 219
    NBCSHD 220
    HGTVHD 229
    foodHD 231
    COOKHD 232
    E!HD 236
    BRVOHD 237
    AUDHD 239
    PARHD 241
    USAHD 242
    SyfyHD 244
    TNTHD 245
    TBSHD 247
    FXHD 248
    COMHD 249
    LIFEHD 252
    LMNHD 253
    AMCHD 254
    BBCAHD 264
    A&EHD 265
    FYIHD 266
    HISTHD 269
    DSCHD 278
    TLCHD 280
    VEL 281
    APLHD 282
    DISeHD 290
    DXDHD 292
    CNeHD 296
    NIKeHD 299
    NKJRHD 301
    FRFMHD 311
    MTVHD 331
    MTV2HD 332
    AUDHD 334
    VH1HD 335
    BTVHD 353
    ACCUHD 361

    TP 15 is at 0 and TP 17 is at 54 so I can not watch the following at all.

    ESNHD 207
    BBCAHD 264
    FYIHD 266
    NIKeHD 299
    BTVHD 353
    PARHD 241
    VEL 281
    DISeHD 290
    DXDHD 292
     
  5. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    285
    Yes, those numbers are much too low.
    If your 99cb signals arein the high 80s, looks like an LNB problem
     
  6. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok, checked the living room receiver (it was finally not in use) and all numbers are fine on it.

    So am I looking at a receiver problem? Because with the way SWM works I don't think a wiring problem would affect just one sat and drastically affect just two transponders...
     
  7. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    958
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    But again, as a test can you temporarily swap receiver locations?

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,448
    Likes Received:
    2,486
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Because the signal is technically good.

    Unless those channels are breaking up I wouldn’t worry about it.
     
  9. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    285
    Yes, swap the receivers as a test.
    I do not understand Claude's posts at all.
     
  10. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Texas
    Well this morning I got up and it's working fine...but the numbers are still about 8 points lower than CB but now TP 15 and 17's numbers blend in with the rest of them.

    So I'm thinking the LNBF is letting water in and it dried over night. It's supposed to rain again we'll see if it does it again...
     
  11. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Texas
    It did it again even before any rain got here. I just moved here a week ago BTW and the dish and wiring was already here.

    So for the first time since moving here I got up on the roof to take a look (can't see it from the ground). Found a SL3 with a 8-way splitter feeding only two lines. How dumb to use a 8-way to feed 2!

    First I swapped the SL3 for my known good SL5 LNBF and problem did not go away.

    So I swapped the DirecTV SWM 8-way splitter for my known good DirecTV SWM 2-way splitter and walla! Numbers on both receivers now match.
     
    Jimbo and raoul5788 like this.
  12. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    958
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Glad to hear it ...

    I really thought is was a cable/splitter proplem, since if it was the LNBF it should affect all the receivers as its a SWiM integrated type.

    I just needed to confirm it wasn't the receiver, which is why I asked for the swap location test.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    #12 HoTat2, Oct 14, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2018
  13. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    IA
    It really makes no sense that an 8 way splitter would cause that, so I wouldn't assume that what you did actually fixed anything. Sometimes simply moving/tightening cables appears to fix things, but it may not be permanent.
     
  14. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    285
    Although an 8-way splitter is absolutely not optimum where a two way is enough, there had to be another issue. As slice1900 says, there might be a bad connector that just "fixed itself" temporarily
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...