Mesh sourch for older BUD?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

alteng

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2007
Recently when I was out running around the area I noticed an old 8' BUD that had been unceremoniously yanked up from the ground and was obviously about to be scrapped. :eek:
To make a long story short, I saved the BUD and pole from the torch, but in the process one small mesh panel was damaged.:(
I'm hoping that someone can help ID the dish brand and suggest a source for a new matching mesh panel. The pop-riveted panels are approx 17.5" at the widest point, and the oblong mesh holes are approx 1/8" at their widest point. BTW, the label on the dish is from some installer/dealer it appears, but it reads: "Laser Recreational Sports and Imports - made in USA". Any pointers on finding mesh, etc. appreciated, as I'm a newbie on BUD stuff (but several years exp with KU).

dish1.jpg

Last edited:
no big deal on the mesh. from your pic its in 75% better shape then mine. mine has 4 or 5 holes in it an it still works fine. mine is set to one sat.

Looks like a nice dish. Good catch!
I can't see any damage in your picture, so ...
I'm sure it'll operate just fine the way it is.
You might get some stainless steel fishing wire and weave/sew it across the tear.

edit: oh, and was Laser a brand name of some BUDs?
... or am I confused? ;)

Laser was a private label brand for antennas distributed by R S & I, a major (mostly west coast) distributor back in the good old days.