minibud setup in my future?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ftaseeker

Original poster
Mar 28, 2008
Hi guys,

I'm moving into a house, and I can finally DX satellites. I'm new to FTA, so I am likely to ask dumb questions for a while :)

It looks like if I mount a 1m pole on the top of the roof on the west side of the house that I can get a clear shot of the Clark belt from about 72'W to 148'W. The setup I am considering is a 1.2m offset dish with a BSC621 - unless someone knows of a better ku/C combo LNB.

Before mounting it on the roof, I'd get the LNB "optimized" by pointing to a a satellite (any suggestions?)

I'm hoping to pull in quite a bit of the DVB FTA on C band, and I am particularly interested in HD sports feeds.

Unfortunately I doubt a 4' offset dish has any hope of pulling in the DVB-S2 Equity feeds on G26 :-( however I may be able to convince my wife to let me park a BUD in the back yard...

(I'm also hoping to be putting in a 33" offset dish, fixed mount, with LNB's pointed at G10, G25, and if I am lucky, White Springs TV on G27)

Does anyone have a 1.2m minibud setup? How much FTA are you pulling in?

The offset angle on the 1.2m dishes appears to be 22.7 degrees, am I correct in assuming that I can angle the dish down 6' or so to be able to get birds at 16 degrees elevation?

Thanks!

Receivers: Fortec Mercury Star II, Diamond 9000HD (in the mail)

If their is any way I would recommend a 7.5' mesh dish (if you have to keep it small as possible). Mini bud projects are cool but they are limited.

I have a 7.5' sami mesh and it performs great on c and ku band.
You may find that after you spend the money on a 1.2 M dish you will end up getting a larger one.

If the Wife approves - go ahead and get a larger dish.

I honestly didn't have much luck with my BSC-621 on a 10' dish. It worked great for C-band but not great for ku. It provided just ample ku reception but not great. It is a big compromise. Some members here like their 621's.