motor problem

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dxuall1

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 4, 2007
mission,tx
hi to everyone I've noticed that my motor has play (let's say I move the dish to 58.0 west where there's a satellite that already have programed with a few channels and in my tv says no signal.But as soon as i go out and push the dish to the oposite side let's say half a quarter of an inch or less and the signal goes s.l.70- s.q 45-55 then i let go of the dish and the signal get's lost again) if I put the motor to 0 position I can move the dish to the sides with my hands a little bit I'll say 3-4 eights of an inch or so I am sorry i am not good at measurements. does anybody know what causes this problem? how can i fix it? already checked al the nuts and screws from the motor and dish mount they are ok tight. motor:geosatpro gs-120 hh with a 36'' geosatpro dish. :) happy new year 2008 to everybody.

Last edited:
Check the hex head bolt that passes through the motor post. Make sure that this is VERY tight! If there is still play, there are two adjustment screws underneath the white tape label label that can tension the drive gears.

Check the hex head bolt that passes through the motor post. Make sure that this is VERY tight! If there is still play, there are two adjustment screws underneath the white tape label label that can tension the drive gears.

I had the slack problem when installing a GS-120 in NYC last year. Could you post a picture of where the tension screws are located? I'll be going back up there soon, and will probably get to fix that problem while I'm there :)

I already did tightened the head hex bolt and all three screws under the white label but the problem still continues. what else can i check??

In rereading your post, I am trying to determine the amount of lash that you are describing. All motors will have a very slight amount of lash, but your description would suggest excessive play.