Motor..?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

AndyCYXU

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 4, 2008
Excuse my ignorance, I am still new to all of it.. does motor control all the values Azimuth/elevation/skew.. ? or just azimuth..

if i got a motor do i still have to go out and adjust elevation for other satellites.. it doesn't make sense to me that it would be so..

does anyone have a good recommendation for a motor.. for 39" dish

Thanks

The motor tracks both azimuth and elevation. The motor mount is tilted back and set to your latitude angle. The motor post has a bend which when combined with the motor mount offset and the dish angle setting allows for elevation tracking as the motor swings East and West.

In USALS mode the receiver calculates the correct motor setting and moves the motor to that angle. In DiSEqC mode, each satellite position needs to be found and stored in the motor's indexed memory for recall by the receiver.

We could recommend a good motor ...... LOL!!!! .....but the forum members will not steer you wrong!

Thanks, it was kinda silly question :confused:.. i get it now how it works :eureka .. thanks for reply

Andy

Andy, I bet you just helped out several others here who were wondering the same thing but were hesitant to ask. You just asked a very logical question. About SatelliteAV, I've bought from them, they are a class act.
What is the brand of your 39" dish?

skew, too

If you had a fixed dish on a pole or mast , without a motor . . .
And you aimed at a western satellite low on the horizon, then a southern satellite high in the sky, and then an eastern bird low on the other horizon...
... you'd be changing azimuth, elevation, and skew for all three.
Skew is where you twist the LNB in its mount.

As mentioned above, the motor takes care of azimuth (east/west), and elevation.
Well, the clever geometry of the motor/dish combination, actually changes the effective skew for you, too.!