Movies saved on DVR

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by nakedland, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. nakedland

    nakedland Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Hello everyone,

    I'm brand new here and brand new to Dish. I'm also 91 years young this year. Glass of Whiskey a day is the secret. :)

    Anyway, enough babble.

    They gave me 3 months of all the premium channels for signing up. I have been recording movies to watch after the 3 months are up but my neighbor said I won't be able to watch them.

    I've had DirecTV and Comcast in the past and was able to record, store and watch the movies days, weeks or even months later.

    How come Dish doesn't allow me to do that? Is there a way to work around it?

    Thank you. And thank you for allowing me to join this group

    Wendall
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. lparsons21

    lparsons21 SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    7,935
    Likes Received:
    4,924
    Location:
    Herrin, IL 62948
    Welcome to the group!

    Your neighbor is incorrect. Keep recording as much as you want, you'll be able to watch them as long as you want to.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    navychop likes this.
  3. midleman

    midleman SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    United States
    I also record movies during a free preview times. I have run into a rare occasion where the recording has not played back but it takes me to the add channel menu. It's very annoying. But the majority works fine.
    I would recommend that you put in the recording onto a EHD. Just in case your main hard drive fails.
     
    Tron2012 likes this.
  4. Tron2012

    Tron2012 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    IL Suburbs
    Welcome fellow whiskey drinker. However, by the looks of your user name it seems like maybe whiskey AND being a nudist is the real secret to longevity?! :drunk
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  5. nakedland

    nakedland Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks everyone for responding. It didn't sound right to me that the others could do this but dish couldn't

    Nice to know we should be ok.

    I've been recording a lot and hated to lose the opportunity to watch them.
     
    stardust3 likes this.
  6. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,773
    Likes Received:
    12,759
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I must comment that for some movies I have been unable to move them to EHD. Or maybe had to wait a few weeks before I could.
     
  7. .Andy

    .Andy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA 6
    I have my whole HD filled with movies from HBO preview lol.
     
  8. nakedland

    nakedland Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    What is a EHD? Do I call Dish and ask for one? When they send it to me, easy to install or better to have their tech do it? Thank you.

    Wendall
     
  9. bmetelsky

    bmetelsky SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    928
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Elyria, OH USA
    EHD is external hard drive. You would need to purchase one. They are easily self installed, basically plug and play.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
     
  10. nakedland

    nakedland Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Oh, ok. I will research them. Any I should consider and/or avoid?
     
  11. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    4,265
    Likes Received:
    735
    Location:
    Pensacola,FL
    You can get and EHD from Walmart, Best Buy, Amazon(ONLINE) or just about anywhere, 2TB is the max size that you can use. They must be self powered.
     
    nakedland likes this.
  12. nakedland

    nakedland Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Is self powered: USB powered?
     
  13. garys

    garys SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    No, USB powered is not (although some have worked for a time). Self powered means standard plug.
     
    nakedland likes this.
  14. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    9,109
    Location:
    USA
    We use WD MyBook 2TB drives and have had very good luck with them.
     
    ggw2000, nakedland and stardust3 like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...