moving DR 12-100 receiver from SWM to 3 lnb 18 x 20 antenna

Status
Please reply by conversation.

tucsonite1

Original poster
Feb 28, 2012
tucson
i have a direct HD swm antenna with one HD receiver and one DR 12-100 receiver. i want to take the DR 12 to a mountain cabin occasionally. the KT-1 antenna (3 lnb 19 x 20) is not aimed at the satellites. i cannot change the setup from SWM to 18 x 20 dish. if i disconnect the SWM and connect the KT-1, i have to do a red button reset to proceed. the receiver tries to come up but sticks on "searching for satellite". do i need to do a Restart Receiver, a reset defaults or reset everything before i hook up the KT-1? if you have the answer, please include detailed instructions as i am no expert at this. Thanks

If I'm understanding you right-

Do you have the dish pointed properly? Did you look up the azimuth and elevation for the cabin house? Also you need to call DTV and do a temporary address change.

If you are trying to get signal at both locations simultaneously you would need two separate accounts.

If you switch back and forth you need to call in and change your primary address each time a switch is made.

after i do the red button reset, the receiver hangs with "searching for satellite". when i check the voltage at the receiver antenna jack, i have 0 volts. i should have between 12 and 18 volts. i need to get the receiver set to "multiswith" and dish type to 3 lnb 18 X20, then i can get voltage to the 18 x 20 dish. do i need to go to system setup while hooked to the SWM and do a "restart receiver" or "reset defaults" or "reset everything". if i power the receiver down, unhook the cable to the SWM and hook it to the KT1, then go to system setup, and do one of the resets, does that take me to where i want to go? the cabin has had a Direstv DR 10 on the KT 1 antenna by the past owner and it worked o.k. yes, i plan to do a temp. address change when i get this thing working. thanks for the info.