moving satlite from roof mount to wall mount.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by mash104, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. mash104

    mash104 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    74868
    i already have a wall mount from a previous installation of viasat internet that i had disconnected because i found a better price with less ping so i was wondering can i move my directv satellite to it?its about 40 feet from the current install.the reason im needing to move it is because i have to get my roof redone and would like to move it so i dont have to worry about it
     
  2. mash104

    mash104 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    74868
    also would it need to be adjust alot
     
  3. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,337
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Actually, if it points the same direction, all your setting would likely be the same.
    Make sure the mount is solid and the mast is plumb.

    Keep in mind, normally the settings are the same all over ones city with very slight adjustments, provided you understand how to set them up.
     
  4. mash104

    mash104 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    74868
    yes same direction pretty much just about 4 feet closer to the ground is all
     
  5. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,337
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    If you can put it in the same spot 4 ft away, if its plumb, you should be close enough to make minor adjustments.
     
  6. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    24,408
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys mash104!

    Are the masts the same diameter?
     
  7. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,337
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Good point Chip,
    I presumed he was moving the mast from the roof to the same LOCATION as the other ...
    Chances are that the two are NOT the same as most were 1 5/8, with the Newer D* stuff all being 2" fro the last 5-10 years now.

    Personally, I'd take the D* dish and mast and just move all of it to the location of the old dish.
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,636
    Likes Received:
    1,893
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I think exede and Directv slimline dishes both use a 2 inch pipe
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  9. mash104

    mash104 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    74868

    old mast DIRECTV J-Mount Stub Mast for Slim Line Satellite Dish (SLMTSTUBMAST) from Solid Signal


    new mast thats about 40ft away and 4ft closer to the ground but will point the same direction DIRECTV J-Mount Mast and Mount For Slimline Satellite Dish (SLMTSTDMAST) from Solid Signal
     
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    24,408
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    I did a little internet sleuthing. Yes they both use a 2" mast. The exede mast is proprietary in that it's hexagonal, not round, except at the top where the dish mounts it's round.
     
    harshness likes this.
  11. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,636
    Likes Received:
    1,893
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Only matters what size the pipe is on top.

    I think your referring to pole mounts. They sometimes do just to prevent the pole from spinning in the cement
     
    JSheridan likes this.

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...