Multi Sat Installs

Roadwarrior

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 18, 2006
Pacific NW
Alright, I've seen this mentioned before on here, but since I do not work for a retailer I've never really had the oppurtunity to try it(I think it falls under custom work, which we don't really do).

If a customer were wanting, lets say, 4 orbitals for 2 dual tuners(maybe 119,110,61.5 and 148) and a 44 switch was not an option. Am I to understand that I could use 4 DP21 switches to each sat input to receive that 4th orbital? I know it has been discussed using one 21 with a 44 switch to receive a 5th?

I'm a decent installer I just don't usually have the time to experiment with this stuff.

To me it sounds like a problem waiting to happen.

In this scenario I would be using 2 500 dishes and 3 DP duals to a 34 switch for the first 3 orbitals. Then there would have to be a 3rd dish with 2 more duals and four lines going to the 21 switches. I don't see this working, personally.

Yes, it will work. Don't worry. :)

Think of it THIS way. You'll agree that a DP twin is really a "DP 22 switch"....two sat feeds in, with a combined (110/119) output feeding two tuners, right? And with THAT particular LNB, it's pretty common to put a DP 21 in the mix to combine, say, a 61.5?

With that thinking, you have two switches in the mix. That's all your proposed scenario (DP34 feeding a DP21) is accomplishing. :)

I would expect difficulty getting 2 DP Duals on the same dish to see the same slot, probably doable with a little tweaking. You should be able to use a DP splitter off each output of a Dual to get 4 lines, then cascade off the 4 outputs of the DP34 through the 4 DP21 switches.

More combinations are shown on the EKB Dish Switch Selector charts.