Mr Tony

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Nov 17, 2003
Mankato, MN
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20050805/ap_on_sp_co_ne/ncaa_indian_nicknames

**RANT ON**
Stuff like this really pisses me off. So because a few people don’t like the term Indians or Warriors they have to whine until they get their way and get it changed.

When I graduated from high school in 1993 we were known as the Indians. Well, some “sensitive” group got all mad and made us change it. What bugged a lot of people is there is an Indian Reservation next to Shakopee (where I graduated). Mystic Lake is there. The tribe APPROVED of the school keeping the name Indians, but they had to change it due to pressure. I still walk around proud saying “I am proud to be part of the last class of the Indians” (and no I am not a Native American)

Funny part is for probably 5-6 years when they sang the fight song, there is a part when you spell out the team and the people spelling out I-N-D-I-A-N-S outnumber (outcheer) the people spelling out the new name (which I refuse to say). Sometimes they still outnumber them

OK rant off :D

We had that happen in a town near us, in Frisco. For the longest their mascot was known as the Coons. They had to change that to Raccoons a couple of years ago.

Neutron said:
We had that happen in a town near us, in Frisco. For the longest their mascot was known as the Coons. They had to change that to Raccoons a couple of years ago.

Why was there mascot not a racoon before?

There are way more important things to worry about then school mascots.