need a 500mile antenna

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by brotherhood, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. brotherhood

    brotherhood Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    97w/55n
    hi guys
    i now its a crazy question but is there a antenna that does 500mile range?
    living about 500 miles to the closes city
    thanks
     
  2. jayn_j

    jayn_j Press On Regardless
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    10,245
    Likes Received:
    2,507
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Not a chance. 500 miles means the curvature of the earth would require a VERY tall tower. Like miles high. Lower frequencies used to be able to be unreliably picked up via troposheric skip, but most broadcasting is on UHF these days, and skip is very rare there.

    I would guess you are stuck with satellite as an only option.
     
  3. ralfyguy

    ralfyguy SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Posts:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    McAlester, Oklahoma
    RF signals are basically Line Of Sight. TV reception beyond about 65 miles is luck. That's when the curvature of the earth already kicks in, no matter how good the equipment. 500 miles is impossible.
     
  4. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,419
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Where are you, on a raft in the Gulf of Mexico?

    There is nowhere in the CONUS that is 500 miles away from OTA TV signals.
     
  5. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    22,404
    Likes Received:
    972
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Radio shack used to sell an UHF antenna that was about 9' long. I could go about 125 miles with it, that is probably the limit of what one could realistically do.
     
  6. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Lake House
    Canada ;)
     
  7. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Lake House
    I still have one of them :) We had one at the cabin where there were only translator stations for the nets and they were 25 miles away or so. I wouldnt say it got 125 miles....Radio Shack was known to "fudge" the numbers. Maybe in the desert or flatlands of Texas (or treeless North Dakota) but not on a normal terrain ;)
     
  8. brotherhood

    brotherhood Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    97w/55n
    k thanks guys and yes in Canada north of 55
     
  9. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    22,404
    Likes Received:
    972
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Well from my gently rolling hills of Wichita Falls TX, I can receive Dallas and OKC easily with it, Abilene most of the time (under 140 by air)....
     
  10. Dah-Henny

    Dah-Henny SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,666
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    I'm receiving a few stations that are over 118 miles away, using a 91XG.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...