Need Coolsat 5000 Platinum help

Status
Please reply by conversation.

huertaaj

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 9, 2008
Oxford, Ohio
I downloaded what I thought was the manual for the Coolsat 5000 Platinum receiver from this list but it isn't really what I'm looking for. The file I downloaded was titled Coolsat 4k/5k/6k which doesn't seem to apply to my receiver, not even the pictures. I need to figure out how to ADD, DELETE, or RENAME a satellite. For example, on the receiver list I don't see 89W (Galaxy 28) but would like to add it. I see two 91W satellites listed (Galaxy 11C and Nimiq 1,3) and I would like to delete one of them and rename the other. How do I do this? I can't find the manual anywhere for this receiver which I purchased on ebay.
TNX,
huertaaj

What frequency for LNB and other numbers?

Newbie here so please forgive my ignorance of this subject. I'm trying to scan for channels from a satellite, using C-band at the moment. If I want to scan channels from 89.0W (Galaxy 28), how do I know what the LNB frequency should be (currently says 5.150), and what the numbers for TP (what is TP?) should be (currently 3.400-4.200). Any other numbers I should know of?
Thanks,
huertaaj

The receiver just tunes the output of the LNB.
The LNB converts the incoming C-band signal to the range of frequencies the receiver can handle.
To know how to tune, the receiver needs to know the LO (local oscillator) frequency of the LNB.
Normally, a C-band LNB will be 5150 Mhz, as you have listed.

Then, you need to know the TP (transponder) frequency you are looking for.
Each transponder carries multiple channels of TV and radio.

Generally most receivers can figure out the other parameters, but these are the basics.
Any of the many lists on the internet will show these basic numbers.
Our own TheList gets much more technical.
For the bird you mentioned, here is the page of technical info.