Need Help Fiding Galaxy 10r

Status
Please reply by conversation.

wcalifas831

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 30, 2007
CALIFORNIA
Hey there fellas, I'm new to the fta world and I"ve been trying to aim my dish towards Galaxy 10R. For some reason I have not been sucessful. I did find a satellite 6 degrees west of it which was the one with the white springs )channel 129 degrees). I still haven't gotten to 123 which has been frustrating me. Any of you guys have any advice. I live in California, I used the angle tool on sadoun't site which gave me the elevation o 47.2 and still no signal. Any one have any suggestions?

Jesse

If you'd give your ZIP or city, we could get you some aiming instructions, but if you found Whitesprings, you know the neighborhood (in the sky).

I'm in southern Calif, and I can get Whitesprings on a paperclip and a gum wrapper.
If you got WS, you could try peaking your LNB skew and practicing your aim.

I like to use a compass (some don't), and figuring the magentic offset factor is a real necessity out here.
The Sadoun lookup tool requires you to do that manually.
Many other calculators have it built in.

Set your receiver to an active transponder as found in Iceberg's strong transponder list, and take your receiver outdoors for the job.
It'll be harder to find and tune up on than Whitesprings was, but you should do fine.

Move your dish to the east ever so sloooooow....and just a smidge - 1/16 of an inch at a time - make sure you have an active tp programmed - you are close!

it worked

I was about to give up but I followed your advice of going little by little to my left and then ran a blind scan. Bammmmm finally found galaxy 10. I was already wrapping things up for tomorrow since it was getting dark when I found the satellite. Thanks for all your help.