Need help set up fta dish for 97 w in Palmer, Alaska.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Tooj

Original poster
Jul 9, 2009
AK
Hello I'm a newbie to fta. I got a DIRECTV WorldDirecT 36" Elliptical Dish set up propertly but can't get fta signal for 97 w. Also, I was informed that a 4 foot dish is needed to get fta in Alaska. I wonder if someon out there can help. below are my dish set up info.

Address: 99645
Latitude: 62.2178°
Longitude: -148.1978°
Satellite: 97.0W Galaxy 19
Elevation: 8.4°
Azimuth (true): 125.4°
Azimuth (magn.): 105.0°

Thanks alot for everyone who is helping out.

36" might work but according to Lyngsat you should be using at least a 1m. also with only an 8 degree elevation you want to make sure there is absolutely nothing blocking the line of site between you and the satellite.

Welcome Tooj, you are the first Alaskan I can recall on the fta forum. Hope you can get some other opinions on your location, I believe that you will need a bigger dish, and definitely that good line of sight. A satellite footprint map of Galaxy 19 might help, I'll see if I can locate one.
edit: Here's a link to intelsat's coverage maps, if you can figure out how to make the pic big enough to read, I couldn't read the numbers:
http://www.intelsat.com/network/satellite/

Just pick your sat - you're in the coverage area, just can't see the #@! numbers. Go for the biggest KU dish you can find is my advice.

Here is the location of the footprint map from lyngsat.

Galaxy 19 at 97.0°W - LyngSat Maps

It might be possible to receive some of the stronger transponders. You will need a linear LNB. What kind of LNB and receiver do you have? Hopefully your receiver has the blind scan feature.