Need Help with 622 Ethernet Connection

debhoy

Original poster
Dec 5, 2008
Hi. I need some help. We have a data line only through an AT&T DSL modem to our computer upstairs. I want to hook up a wireless ethernet adapter to the 622 receiver downstair, but I don't know exactly what I need.

Do I need to connect the modem to a router? If so what do brand/model do you recommend? How do I set that up?

I know the DVR is HomePlug ready (whatever that means), so what do I need to purchase? What brand/model do you recommend? How do I connect this?

Sorry for all the stupid questions, but I am really new at this. I tried searching the forums but couldn't find exact what I need. I just want to eliminate the $5 line charge each month.

Hi. I need some help. We have a data line only through an AT&T DSL modem to our computer upstairs. I want to hook up a wireless ethernet adapter to the 622 receiver downstair, but I don't know exactly what I need. You will need a home network.

Do I need to connect the modem to a router? Yes. If so what do brand/model do you recommend? An inexpensive one - brand is not important. How do I set that up? -- Find a friend who is computer savy or do a lot of research on the internet.

I know the DVR is HomePlug ready (whatever that means), so what do I need to purchase? -- A HomePlug unit. What brand/model do you recommend? The least expensive you can find. How do I connect this? See User's manual.

Sorry for all the stupid questions, but I am really new at this. I tried searching the forums but couldn't find exact what I need. Because you need a home network and that is not a focus here. I just want to eliminate the $5 line charge each month.

See responses bolded above.

Last edited:
Some of the DSL modems have routers built in. When I setup my Westell DSL modem, I was able to use an Ethernet switch to build my network.