Need Help with International Dish Install

Status
Please reply by conversation.

veshman

Original poster
Mar 7, 2006
Hi everyone. I'm a first time poster and could use some help regarding options.

I have a triple LNB dish that I got when I signed up for HD DirecTV. That goes into a multiswitch that gives me 8 feeds.

When DirecTV came out with the international channels for India (MTV Desi, Zee TV, etc), I signed up for it.

The installers came out 4 times and never installed the international dish because they said it was too big and couldn't be screwed into the brick. They said I needed a "sled mount". Then they said I couldn't use a sled mount, etc...every time someone came, it was a different person, and no one really seemed credible.

Question is this: Can I just use a second 18" round dual-LNB dish pointed in a different direction to get the international channels, and then combine that with my current dish to get the signal down?

I'm really new at this part of it, so any help would be very much appreciated. What can I do to get these international channels. I don't really want to waste another day with the DirecTV installers.

Thanks,

Bhavesh Patel

Well Mr. Patel, you can probably resolve the issues that you have, by calling a Professional Satellite Installation Firm, and have them install the 2nd dish for you... Look up your Local DirecTV Dealer, which I'm sure you wish you would have done in the first place... Good Luck...

snooty

Well, Mr. Bob, thank you for your enlightening response.

Firstly, since I assumed DirecTV would send out "professional" installers, I'm not sure why I would have called a "Professional Satellite Installation Firm" ... "in the first place".

Secondly, I did talk with one other non-DirectTV "professional" installation group, who was not familiar with the international dish request I have.

Therefore, I decided to post on this website to look for some information to get educated.