Need Help

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

bboyd

Original poster
Aug 17, 2010
Alabama
I'm new to Dish Network.....just switched from local cable company. Have been very pleased so far.

Now, one of the reasons I switched to DN was to get a second dish to take with me to football games while we are tailgating before the game.

What equipment is needed/recommended? I believe I need a dish that is 1000.2, correct? I will be hooking it up to a VIP211k. I will only be using one TV and receiver.

Also, does anybody have any recommendations on where to buy this second dish and whatever else I need?

Any pointers or advice is greatly appreciated. Like I said, I am a novice at this, so details would be great.

Thanks

Since you will probably only be tuning one channel while tailgating, a Dish 500 should be adequate, just be sure it has a DP twin lnb head.

Practice setting it up in your driveway before you go to the game, practice makes perfect.

Jim - thanks for the response. My Dad is in real estate and had a 500. And it has two heads on it. I could never get a signal. I had the dish pointing in the direction that dishpointer.com said was best. I have a clear view of the direction they suggested pointing it. I was still getting a signal strength of 0.

Any idea?

There are several spots to plug the coaxial cable into. How do I know which one? Also, once I have everything hooked up (correctly), how do I program the receiver to pull in a signal from the new dish?

Thanks

if the tv you will be using is not hd, the 500 dish is smaller and easier to sight in.