Need OTA advice please

hahler2

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 14, 2005
Ashton, SD
Hey guys. I'm new to OTA stuff and at the moment I am completely lost. I am thinking about cutting the cord, but I don't want to give up my local channels. The problem is I live in a very rural area and there is not much for options. Here is the tv fool findings.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id=5134d7fd7d9472

I know that PBS, CBS, and ABC can be picked up fairly easily. But I'm wondering if it's possible to get FOX and NBC? I know nothing about antennas so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hey guys. I'm new to OTA stuff and at the moment I am completely lost. I am thinking about cutting the cord, but I don't want to give up my local channels. The problem is I live in a very rural area and there is not much for options. Here is the tv fool findings.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id=5134d7fd7d9472

I know that PBS, CBS, and ABC can be picked up fairly easily. But I'm wondering if it's possible to get FOX and NBC? I know nothing about antennas so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Go to the fcc site: https://transition.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/dtvmaps/

Put in your zip code and move the map to your location to get and idea of what's availble at your location.

Ok. That map said that KTTM (which is FOX) is available but is listed as weak signal. Nothing for NBC. I'm thinking it probably isn't worth it since I won't be able to reliably pick it up. Might just go all online streaming using a combination of cbs all access and Hulu plus. Only thing I would give up would be NFL and local news. Local news isn't a big deal because that can be looked at online. Only thing that would suck would be the NFL. I'm a huge Vikings fan which is why I wanted access to Fox.

Yours looks as bad as mine. If you put up a good outdoor yagi you may also get FOX.
You just have to access how much you want to spend and try.