Need some advice...

Mastadon

Original poster
Feb 20, 2006
Greensboro, NC
Hello, I am very new to the HD OTA concept, and would appreciate any help you guys could spare. I live in the 27410 area code and currently own an Optoma HD projector, and have a Zenith DTV1080 receiver on the way. I have looked at Winegard antennas, but don't know what size I need. I am also not sure about the kind of preamp I will need. Thanks again for any help!

http://www.antennaweb.org will tell you what "color" you need to get the channels you want. you will need a "blue" ant to get WXII 12 NBC so a standard ant will not be a good choice. My sig lists the OTA unit I use but it is more than you should need.

So it looks like I need a "violet." The farthest channel from me is a "blue" that is 77 miles from me. If I amplified it, what is the smallest antenna I could go with? Your 8200 is rated at 100 miles for example, but does it pick up farther with a preamp?

Mastadon said:
So it looks like I need a "violet." The farthest channel from me is a "blue" that is 77 miles from me. If I amplified it, what is the smallest antenna I could go with? Your 8200 is rated at 100 miles for example, but does it pick up farther with a preamp?

A preamp may help, but it won't be a panacea. My advice is to buy a violet rated antenna and add a preamp for extra margin on foul weather days.

In one product description I read that the 8200 was only a "blue" antenna, and became a "violet" after adding the preamp. So is it a "power" difference, or are they two different "types" of antennnas?

Terrestrail DB8