Need to Move Dish

vismich

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 6, 2006
I'm new to Dish...I got it Tuesday. I previously had DirecTV.

I know NOTHING about setting up a dish, but the guy had to put one of the dishes on a Pole. The other is on the roof...and is fine. One is for HD I'm assuming. He was supposed to have it back about 4 feet so it wouldnt be so obvious.

Anyway, I signed the install paper work, and he left. I didnt like where he put the pole, so I called Customer Service. They told me since I signed that paper work that it would cost $99.00 for them to come out and move it.

She did say that if I tried to move it myself and failed then they would come out and fix it for free. So obviously I am going to move it.

I ONLY have to move this thing backward like 3 feet..Maybe 4. Is it reasonable to assume that I will keep the signal? How hard is it to lock in on the sattelite?

I think this is a dish 500 (says it on it)....The tech said it is on Sat 119 I guess....Does that mean I can go into pref, and check the signal as I move this thing?

Any suggestions?
Is this hard?
Should I just pay the 100?

if you never did anything with aiming dishes, then i recommend pay $100, or sign up with DHPP.

why didn't you tell the tech u want the dish a little bit further from current location?

Last edited: