Netflix Hopper 3 Question

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by charlesrshell, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    I have a question about Netflix from the Hopper 3. Sorry if it has already been answered someplace. In Netflix there is an Ultra HD 4K selection list from my LG Blu-ray player and LG OLED TV built in Netflix apps. In the Hopper 3 built in Netflix app the Ultra HD 4K selection list is not available. Anyone know why not?
     
  2. jasonh1965

    jasonh1965 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Salem, IN
    I've seen the Ultra 4K list in my Netflix app on my H3 a few times. It's odd though, as it seems to come and go.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  3. eichenberg

    eichenberg SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I'm not at home to verify, but we just finished watching strangers things last week and I believe it said it was in ultra 4k. Wonder if it is tied to your available bandwidth on your H3.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    That would be my guess. My download speed is 20mbps capped and I don’t see it in my menu. But when I load Netflix over LTE on my iPhone X it shows up.
     
  5. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Where is it in the menu to check the Hopper Internet speed? I can't find it. It was in the HWS someplace that you could check the speed.
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    If you do a search in Netflix for "HDR," it will pull up a list of eligible titles. Those in 4K HDR will say "Dolby Vision" under the icon of the movie.

    There used to be a way to test streaming speed on Hoppers, but I can't remember where to find that. When I mentioned my speed was 20mbps, I meant that's my top DSL speed from my ISP.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  7. jasonh1965

    jasonh1965 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Salem, IN
    You can check speed from the Netflix app as well. I have found that sometimes the app isn't reading my speed correctly and 4K shows only show as available in HD until I do a "red button reboot".
    Even when showing the 4K shows though the section that lists 4K shows exclusively is only there every once in a while. I think maybe Netflix just rotates their menus.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  8. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks. I am contacting Netflix and ask why the Ultra HD 4K selection list doesn't show up from the Netflix app in our Hoppers. It doesn't make sense to me why it shows up from the TV and Blue-ray player Netflix app, why not the Hopper!
     
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Honestly I'm not surprised. My H3 doesn't pass DD 5.1 audio from Netflix, so I've always felt that the Dish version of the Netflix app is a bit neutered. I use my blu-ray player or a Windows 10 PC connected via HDMI for Netflix.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Well jasonh1965 I think you were on to something about the speed for the Netflix app. I did a long chat with Netflix about why the Ultra HD 4k selection list not showing up for the Hopper 3 Netflix app only. It appears the Hopper app is only receiving about 18 Mbps down. The Netflix app requires around 25. Tomorrow I will try to find out why and go from there. I appreciate if any of you real sharp fellow SatGuys members that are Internet smarts can read my Netflix chat and give me some hints on how to fix this issue. Attached is the chat, sorry it is so long. Thanks for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Yes, you have to have an internet connection of at least 25mbps for any Netflix 4k on any device. How much internet speed do you pay for?
     
  12. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    I pay for 300 Mbps down and 20 Mbps up. When I do speed test I get from 350 to 360 down and 21 to 22 up. When I do the Netflix speed test in the app the speed is around 18 Mbps down. So bottom line for some reason the Hopper speed is too slow. I remember from the HWS days when I checked the Hopper speed it was usually around 50 to 75 Mbps down when my home Internet speed would read around 180 Mbps down. Wonder what causes the Hopper speed to be so slow compared to what I am actually getting. My Hopper 3 is connected by Ethernet to my router, no wireless. It does go thru three Cisco switches before it reaches my router. Tomorrow I will run a test Ethernet cable straight from my Hopper 3 to my router bypassing the switches. Maybe I have a switch issue.
     
  13. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Are you using gigabit switches?
     
  14. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Yes
     
  15. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Both my OLED TV and LG Blu-ray player go thru the same switches and the Ultra HD 4K Netflix apps work.
     
  16. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    When you connect your Hopper directly to the modem, if it still only pulls 18mbps, then I would say that definitely points to a Hopper issue
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    OK, thanks. Can you do a speed test from your Hopper Netflix app and see what your speed is? Do you need the procedure on how to do it or do you know how? It is in the attached chat doc.

    Hold on here is the procedure if you need it. While in the Hopper Netflix app with the arrows on your Hopper remote do this sequence: Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up. When the test screen pops up click on Check your Internet. It will take a few minutes before the last step is done which is the Internet speed to your Hopper. I wish we still had the capability to check the speed thru the Hopper menu!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    When connected to DSL, my H3 shows a Netflix speed of 12.75 (I pay for 20mbps DSL)

    When connected to my iPhone via wifi, my H3 shows a Netflix speed of 13.74 (my average tower speed is 50 mbps)

    I then closed out of Netflix and started an "On Demand" download of a show called "Lone Star Restoration" on History On Demand. That is currently streaming at 42.5 mbps on the same iPhone hotspot connection.

    So, maybe it's the Netflix app on the Dish hardware that is the issue?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  19. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks for testing. Yep, I think you might have a point. I just tried the Netflix app speed test from my other H3, 4K, and Wireless Joeys and it won't even test. I get all red Xs. I guess you can only test the Hopper that is connected to the router. Thanks again.
     
  20. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    You have to do a soft reboot on the Hopper after switching between internet connections... I had the red X's also.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

***
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice

Separate names with a comma.

More...