new dish owner want multiple receivers

Status
Please reply by conversation.

prix03gt

Original poster
Feb 4, 2009
hampstead, MD
Just got direct tv yesterday, so I am a newb.....

Slimline 3Lnb dish. Looks like 1 Lnb but I am told it has three built into one head.
There is one wire coming down from the dish into the house and directly into my HR20 HD receiver.

What do I have to do to setup another HD receiver? Is this as simple as buying a two way splitter, or do I need one of those SWM jobs?

A link to the hardware I need would be helpful. I don't want to climb on the roof or pay for the install of the second box ($100). I would really just like to plug and play if possible.

Thank You

Are both of the tuners on your HR20 working from that one cable? if so that means you already have a SWM setup. You'll need a splitter, but a regular cable tv splitter won't do. You need a directv swm approved splitter. various sizes are available here: DirecTV SWM8 - Single Wire Multiswitch - $159 Including Power Inserter - Free Shipping here's a tip: don't get more ports than you need (you'll need one per receiver) because unused ports need to be terminated, and it can be a pain to track them down. You can always split it again if you add yet another receiver.

second tip: the line going from your existing receiver needs to go into the red out port and your dish goes on the in port. This is important because the red ports are for power, and the power inserter should be on your existing receiver.

I only have one HR20 currently and I am relatively sure there is no SWM already setup. The wire just goes right from the dish to my single HR20 and that is it. I just wanted to know if I can get away with something cheaper than the SWM you suggested for $160. For that price, it is cheaper to pay DTV to come out and setup the new receiver for me....

I think these newer dishes actually have the SWM built right in, so could I just purchase something like this?