New HD Install on Saturday, have Q's

Status
Please reply by conversation.

flipr

Original poster
Feb 27, 2008
Appreciate the help, newbie here on this forum.

Been with DTV for a few years, just got new HD TV flat screen for past superbowl. Worked out an upgrade for DT HD service, installer is coming out Saturday. (they thought my personal owned Hughes equipment was leased! Wanted me to send it back!)

On the phone CSR told me they will install 2 cables to each receiver, so the HD DVR can record 2 programs instead of one.

Is that a MUST DO?

Can I use a Y splitter on the single LNB feed into the house to get the effect of 2 inputs?

Reason, in LR I wall mounted the TV over the fireplace, and snaked wires from the attic. I only installed 1 cable, which is diplexed for cable and satellite service. Components are installed on a tv stand about 6' away (running 15' cables hidden). I don't have a second cable coming in, and it appears the only way to install that second cable will be outside, and thru the wall, which I'm not real excited about.

Will new HD DVR receiver work with only 1 input from LNB?

I currently have cable and sat both feeding TV inputs so I can watch different channel than I record. My current DVR is old SD panasonic showstopper, which I will keep installed on cable side of things.

This house was wired very poorly to begin with, and it would be tough snaking in new wires to feed my system, especially for the second receiver in the bedroom. Cable drops are on opposite side of house, and my installs are on first floor.

TIA for any input, appreciate the help

Last edited: