New HD TV - Old 301 receiver

JeffPgh

Original poster
Feb 17, 2005
Pittsburgh, PA
Newbie here - first post... Just took the plunge & bought a Panasonic PT50LC14 LCD RP TV and Denon D-M51DVS home theater system. Me happy. Except for the picture quality on most of my regular SD broadcast. It's now time to get an updated receiver and programming. Cable HD not available in my area yet (my first choice). Don't need DVR (yet!) What are my options with Dish right now? Direct TV any better? Voom content seems subpar and I don't want to get into any committment... Any and all suggestions appreciated.
Thanks

You can get the 811 from dish. That will give you the option for OTA HDTV and a few HDTV channels. SD picture quality isn't going to improve though and may be worse if you use the 811's DVI or component output on the SD stuff.

At this time Direct TV has a few more HD channels than Dish, with either service you can get intergrated OTA tuner for local HD. If you don't want any commitments you will pay full price for equipment. Also check www.antennaweb.org for OTA HD availability in your area. If you choose OTA route you can purchase a STB they start about $200 and go up from there.

chevyN8 said:
You can get the 811 from dish. That will give you the option for OTA HDTV and a few HDTV channels. SD picture quality isn't going to improve though and may be worse if you use the 811's DVI or component output on the SD stuff.

Since most of the content is SD and the SD PQ isn't going to improve, I wonder if I'm better off going the digital cable route. Do you know if SD PQ via digital cable is any better than via a dish, generally???

yes. But Dish's HD pack basically has the same channels as the others, I think it will satisfy you quite nicely.