new here

Status
Please reply by conversation.

missjtiger

Original poster
Jul 23, 2010
Olive Branch MS
Really didn't know exactly where to go to ask this but here goes.....I need help with what is the best portable satellite dish for tailgating. Anyone know anything about the VuQube ? I really wanted an HD but non-HD is ok. thanks

Really didn't know exactly where to go to ask this but here goes.....I need help with what is the best portable satellite dish for tailgating. Anyone know anything about the VuQube ? I really wanted an HD but non-HD is ok. thanks

Welcome to the Site !!!
If you talking about Directv, then YUP you found the right place. :)

I've never used the VUQube before, however this one has been recommended highly.

http://www.campingworld.com/shoppin...automatic-portable-satellite-tv-antenna/44150

here's another one and I can't see a difference.

Winegard RoadTrip MiniMax Automatic Stationary Satellite TV Antennas - Product - Camping World

Unfortunatly ,they don't do HD either.
I'm still waiting on an HD version.

Last edited:
thanks ! yes, I have Directv....trying to figure out the differences between the VuQube and the Winegard.....and yes, I'm dumb :D

Other than the Obvious ? One being a Qube shape !

I think the Qube is older.

From what I found here, the cheaper ones are not automatic, doesn't take too much to find a signal, but the other ones do it for you as soon as you turn it on.
They are close to the same in price.

http://www.kingcontrols.com/vu_qube/vq1000.asp

You would probably want to go with a step or two up from the cheapest one on the Qube, as the cheap one only does 1 feed.
If thats the case, your gonna pay the same for the CarryAll or whatever they call it which has 2 feeds.

Last edited:
For tailgating, the best dish is probably one just like the one you have at home mounted on a tripod. If you want an automatic dish, you need one that mounts a Slimline on a motorized base.