New install tomorrow - A couple of questions from a new customer.

scott12v

Original poster
Aug 11, 2006
I'm brand new to Dish and new to Satellite TV. I've been a Comcast customer for the past 10 years (and hated them every second). I've recently moved into a new home and have decided to give Dish a shot.

My primary question is about mounting the Dish. My ideal location would be about 150' from the house on a pole in the ground next to our existing utility pole. I already have an empty conduit run from this location to the house. Is 150' too far? Are there any other problems with doing this? I was going to go ahead and run the RG6 myself so that the installer wouldn't complain about the distance. Do I just need 1 RG6 cable or do I need to run multiples? I was also planning on mounting my OTA antenna on or near the dish, so I guess I need at least a second RG6 for that.

If it matters, I'm signed up for the DishHD Silver package and will be getting a 622 and 2 211s.

I've read through the first 10 pages of threads, but am still kind of confused about needing multiple dishes. Hopefully I can get by with a single dish and a single run of RG6 to the house (or 2 if I need one for the OTA signal.)

I'm in the Pittsburgh area.

Thanks,
Scott

:) you better have some big pipe you need at least 4 if your going to put the switch near the house one for each sat another for the off air ant. the 150 is OK as long as your entry point is close to the TVs. i think the power inputs on the new switches help on long runs. i think 200ft is max

hobojoe said:
:) you better have some big pipe you need at least 4 if your going to put the switch near the house one for each sat another for the off air ant. the 150 is OK as long as your entry point is close to the TVs. i think the power inputs on the new switches help on long runs. i think 200ft is max

Thanks for the response. There's actually two conduits (one has a single RG6 from Comcast), so I *think* 4 wires will be okay.