1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

New Ku band Project

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Chewie, Jan 19, 2019.

  1. DVB-S2

    DVB-S2 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    44
    Simple way is to ensure you are tuned to a horizontal transponder before you move the dish - that way the motor's being supplied with 18 volts, instead of 13 volts (as it would be if you were last tuned to a vertical transponder).

    I had an HH120 installed, but eventually got fed up with its slowness and switched over to a polar mount and linear actuator - much happier now!
     
  2. raydio

    raydio K4ECP
    Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    680
    Likes Received:
    528
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Hey Chewie if you decide to go the polar mount route let me know as I may be interested in your HH-120.
     
  3. Chewie

    Chewie Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    California
    Hello raydio
    I not to worry about the speed of the motor, I will keep it for now, I am don't know where to get a polar mount or it has to be home made.
    Is a good motor, there is an option on enigma@ under the tuner configuration mode call extra motor options and under there is an option call Horizontal turning speed , I am not sure if this option can speed up the motor.
    Regards.
    Chewie
     
    raydio likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,625
    Likes Received:
    6,536
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Chewie, how are you liking your non-penetrating mount? The 2 I have are undergoing their toughest test so far today... sustained winds of 30mph with gusts over 50mph and no drift! That's quality right there!!
     
  5. Chewie

    Chewie Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    California
    That is very good CN, in my area I don't get lots of winds my dish is facing south, the winds blow from east to west, as you can see on the pictures, the east side is my neighbors house and it blocks some of the wind, the north is the back of my dish and the roof blocks most of the wind and so on the west side, but I am glad it can hold on to this much wind.
    I like this mount a lot I had to shim it a little so it was plumb, so far I haven't seen any changes on signal quality.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  6. Chewie

    Chewie Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    California
    Hello Gents
    I have some more questions, please take a look at this diagram on how to connect my dishes and OTA antenna, is it possible to connect them this way?, I been reading about diplexers and it may be to much insertion loss, or is there better diplexers that have low insertion loss that I can use or is there any other way I can connect my dishes and antenna, I want get rid of some cables inside the house.
    Any Ideas would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
    Regards
    Chewie
     

    Attached Files:

  7. wave catcher

    wave catcher SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    OBrien Oregon
    It will not work ... OTA tv is 200 Mhz to 800 Mhz and the DiseqC switch range is 950 Mhz to 2400 Mhz. Run a separate cable to the OTA tuner. Use a 22k switch if you have only 2 LNBs
     
  8. a33

    a33 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    307
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    netherlands europe
    When you have problems running a second cable, it can still be done with one cable (with losses both on sat and on OTA!).

    In that case you'd need a second diplexer at the output port of the (diseqc or other) switch.

    So... a diplexer can be used to add OTA signal, and to split off OTA signal.

    Greetz,
    A33
     
  9. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    FL
    Some of your weaker signals on OTA may not work very good with the diplexers.
     

    Attached Files:

    wave catcher likes this.
  10. Chewie

    Chewie Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    California
    Thanks all of you for this information I will give a shot and see how it works .
    Regards.
    Chewie
     
    raydio and wave catcher like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...