New to Direct TV

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ismdoug

Original poster
Dec 14, 2008
Hi looks like an excellent forum. I just moved from Dish to Direct TV this past week. I like the channel selection a bit better.

This is my first time with a DVR and it is some good news/frustrating news in working with it.

With Dish, I could record to my DVD burner without a problem. With Direct TV, it is blocking me. I like to keep a copy of a show from time to time and am worried about the DVR filling up. Is there any way I can archive off from the DVR? I am not sure what the model number of the DVR I have, it has a blue circle in the center of it and has a usb port on the left side of the front. Is it possible to just connect it to my computer and read the disk like a normal external hard drive? Or, if I hook up an external hard drive to it, can I use it to record shows to and keey them on external disks?

Any way, I am very impressed with the equipment and enjoy using a DVR! Can't imagine life any more without it.

Doug in Michigan

Hi looks like an excellent forum. I just moved from Dish to Direct TV this past week. I like the channel selection a bit better.

This is my first time with a DVR and it is some good news/frustrating news in working with it.

With Dish, I could record to my DVD burner without a problem. With Direct TV, it is blocking me. I like to keep a copy of a show from time to time and am worried about the DVR filling up. Is there any way I can archive off from the DVR? I am not sure what the model number of the DVR I have, it has a blue circle in the center of it and has a usb port on the left side of the front. Is it possible to just connect it to my computer and read the disk like a normal external hard drive? Or, if I hook up an external hard drive to it, can I use it to record shows to and keey them on external disks?

Any way, I am very impressed with the equipment and enjoy using a DVR! Can't imagine life any more without it.

Doug in Michigan