New to Dish. Hopper is ignoring "stop 3 minutes after"

craiger88

Original poster
May 27, 2012
United States
Hey guys, I am new to dish and to the forums. Hoping you can help me out. I have a hopper with no Joey's. I have several timers set up with all of them having the default of stoping 3 minutes after. So far, all have them have started 1 minute early, but ended right on time instead of 3 minutes late. Is there something I am missing? I searched and didn't find anything about this.

Welcome to the forum!

Is it possible that the extended recording time caused a scheduling conflict for your timers?

Thanks for the quick reply! Is this something it would warn me about or I would just have to try to figure out? I don't think it was in conflict. It looks like it may be happening when there is another recording on the same channel after it. Will it not just put those 3 minutes in both recordings?

I was going to ask if you are recording shows on the same channel back-to-back...the Hopper will try to record it so as to save you a tuner...if im not mistaken though you can extend it a little bit longer and it will take up 2 tuners to record

I guess it doesn't record the same content twice. Since those three minutes are being recorded by your second timer, the first one skips them.

Ok so I will have to find the next show to watch the last minute of the previous show? That is a little frustrating since they have it recorded, they should just tack it on to both recordings. oh well. Thanks for the help! Loving most everything else. MUCH better than comcast.

Edit: OR automatically lead in to the next show like PTAT.