new to free to air

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gatorlt64

Original poster
Jan 26, 2008
sacramento ca
I am brand new to free to air and had some questions. I purchased a captiveworks cw 700 and cw600 receiver. I am ordering a 36" dish with a motor but while I wait can I use my old direct tv dish to pick up some satellites? What satellite is the the best to point at with this dish if it will work? I want to do this to set up my receivers wile waiting for the new dish. My bigest question is the cable in my house. My house is pre wired for cable. The manufacturer has wired coax cable to each room and I would like to know if this cable is ok to use? What type of cable do i use from the sat to the switch? If the cable in the house will work I plan on hooking the switch to it and run new cable up to the sat. Have I gotten in over my head or is this easy enough for a newbee to figure out? The free to air sat seems like a fun hobby and it looks like the ku band has plenty of free channels to view. Any input would be really appreciated. Thank You
Jeff

Until you get your 36" dish the only satellite worth picking up with your small dish is the 119.0°W EchoStar 7 Ku for Nasa TV and a very few amount of audio channels.

How is your house pre wired, are they split or do they go to one place and connect with a switch? For satellite it is highly recommended that you use RG-6 cable.

Also what type of wiring is done to your small dish and are there any switches or special LNBs used there?

I know it is hard to wait but it might be better if you wait :( for your 36" dish to arrive :D

I pretty much agree with everything QWERT mentioned, above.
But I know how frustrating it is to wait...
... and I know that it's going to be a real educational awakening when you get your dish 'n motor and try to hook it up.
So, a little practice with an old DirecTV dish would be good, if you're up for it! - :cool:

Aiming it will be difficult, but good practice for the 36 !