New to FTA

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

lionel.c@talktalk.net

Original poster
Mar 2, 2008
Hi all

I am in the UK and I am a complete newbie to FTA so please excuse my ignorance. I have a bog standard (as far as I am aware) Sky mini dish which I have not used for some time. I have an HD ready TV and want to purchase an HD FTA receiver. Any suggestions as to which receiver would do the job and if indeed they would be compatible with my existing dish.

All advice will be appreciated

Lionel

Most members here are from the United States, so I'm not sure if we can give you the best answers for a FTA setup in Europe.

Here it is necessary to have at least a 30" dish with a linear Ku-Band LNBF (either standard or universal, although in Europe they are most likely all universals). Not sure what is used for the Sky service, it may be circular, in which case you would need a different LNBF (and possibly dish).

There are far more options in Europe for FTA, especially when it comes to HD receivers. Fortec is currently selling the Passion receiver in Europe, but it has yet to come to the States. There are many other companies in Europe selling HD receivers than there are here. Also, there are many more DVB-S2 receivers over there. I would recommend this feature if you are in the market for a new receiver, since many uplinkers will soon be switching to this format.

So that would be $317.84 USD? Why is there a difference between here and there to where we have to wait for a NA receiver? When we could just purchase one now from overseas?