OTHER New to FTA

Discussion in 'FTA Receiver / Equipment Support' started by David Tibbets, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,382
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    Location:
    EM75xb
    You are on a DBS bird most likely DISH Network. Those Channel numbers are the numbers on DISH, if you paid for it. The $ sign means they are encrypted.
    Also, since you don't have a C-Band LNBF yet, you have your LO set wrong. Ku numbers should be 5 digits....Speaking of more numbers:
    The first number is the frequency. I am sure you familiar with 98.7 FM or 103.3 FM on your radio. That is 98.7 and 103.3 MHz. So that number is the frequency, much higher than your FM radio. ;)
    The H or V is the polarization of the antenna on the satellite; Horizontal or Vertical. Then the last number is like the bit rate(called SR or Symbol Rate). Kind of like how much bandwidth that channel or MUX(Multiple channels) are/is using.

    EDIT: So 12152 V 20000 translates to 12,152 MHz or 12.152 GHz. The V means the antenna on the satellite is Vertically polarized. 20000 is the symbol rate or the bandwidth allowed for that MUX.
     
    spongella, danristheman and . Raine like this.
  2. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    I understand the V and H polarization. I've also found 3 satellites that do provide programming that I can watch. I'm just playing with finding other sats now. What I'd like to know is how to find out what satellite that does provide a feed that I'm I'm picking up. I'd think it would tell me somewhere on the receiver. For instance I found a transponder channel that's called "The florida channel" I've muddled through it by digging through sites by channels but I'm looking for an easier way to determine what sat I'm on rather than look through a half dozen sites and a list a mile long to tell me which sat they're on. I'd think it wouldn't be that hard to figure out. Some feeds I get don't really tell me what they are. I also found a CNN feed that airs something at certain times but don't know which sat it is. Trying to muddle through a list to figure it out is a fruitless effort. Thank you for your reply.
     
  3. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    You go to a site like this: Satellite Charts - Search

    Click on various sats that you think MIGHT be the one you are pointed at, and match it up with the transponder settings on your receiver. Once you get a couple sats figured out, it's easy.
     
    spongella likes this.
  4. . Raine

    . Raine SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    North America, CT.
    Like Ke4est said your lnbf lo is set wrong. Until you set that right, none of the numbers will match up.

    If your lnbf is linear, set the lo to 10750. If it's a universal lnbf, set the lo to 9750/10600.

    Fix your lo setting and then the numbers should match what you see online at sites like Sathint, lyngsat, etc. They may be slightly off still, like instead of 12152/v/30000, you may scan in 12151/v/29999. As Ke4est said, the 1st number is the transponder, the v or h is polarity and the last is the symbol rate. The Florida channel is on 87w, should be 12044/v/3200, according to Sathint. You should scan it in as that, or close to that, with the correct lo set into your receiver.
     
    #44 . Raine, Apr 23, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
    spongella and danristheman like this.
  5. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    Gotcha! Thank you guys again. Learning this all is quite a task. The manual this cheap receiver came with isn't very helpful. You've all given me some great advice. Hey! 22 bucks invested in the receiver and lnbf and I'm having fun!
     
    spongella, FTA4PA and . Raine like this.
  6. spongella

    spongella SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    792
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Like I said, you've come to the right place. It's great getting your feedback and seeing your progress.

    Satellite finding is like going fishing, the dish is your fishing rod and you cast it out to they sky and hope for a nibble.

    One other point: satellite names will sometimes change, for example, Satmex was changed to Eutelsat. a few years ago. Usually as a result of business. Outdated satellite information may not always have the updated/revised name.

    Receiver manuals and even some H-H motor manuals aren't written in the greatest prose. STAB (H-H motor manufacturer) is the exception, their manuals are great and in many languages. Continue to have fun and keep us posted. You're going to be a pro pretty soon and dream of satellites in your sleep :).
     
    . Raine and FTA4PA like this.
  7. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    Little late nite fun. Looking through the receiver setup, I found a universal freq setting that could scan from 5150 to 11476 when doing another blind scan. I reset the receiver and found 20 channels. Some are dupes but I ended up with more channels. I found sat SES 2 and was wondering are these all on the same transponder or am I getting a mix of SES 2 and Galaxy 17? I'm now wondering with all the other sats I found if I'd get more by re-scanning them with this setting. I hope I'm not having too much fun too quickly lol. I also bought a newer cheapo 11 dollar signal strength meter. I went back to the little piezo sounding with an analog meter. Works better than the new one if you can stand the screech. More accurate. Wondering how hard it would be to make my own 6 foot dish for the new c band lnb. Any thoughts?
     
    spongella likes this.
  8. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    85w
    David, here is my setup at my home.
     

    Attached Files:

    David Tibbets and spongella like this.
  9. spongella

    spongella SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    792
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Quote "I hope I'm not having too much fun too quickly lol." End Quote.

    Impossible :).
     
    raydio likes this.
  10. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,197
    Likes Received:
    6,225
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    The LNB LO setting must be set to match your LNBF. Any setting will allow channels to be scanned. But may result in duplicated channels and incorrect transponder frequencies. If the LNBF is not a UNIVERSAL type, don't select Universal. If the LO is not 11476, don't select 11476.

    What is the brand and model of the LNBF?
     
  11. raydio

    raydio K4ECP
    Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    741
    Likes Received:
    597
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Just make sure you don't have all you fun at once -
     
  12. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    Maverick MK1-PLL. I kept resetting the receiver and re-scanning the same bird. In one scan, I'd find a certain set of channels on 10750. I'd reset it and do another blind scan and I'd get channels at 5150 and lose the others. When I started playing around with this universal channel scan setting on the receiver, it would group them all in one scan. Can't play today tho lol! Nothing comes in. April 27th and its snowing up here in northern illinois. Go figure.
     
  13. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Likes Received:
    693
    Location:
    Connecticut
    10750 is the correct value for the MK1-PLL. Are you getting more channels with that other setting? Or the same channels on different frequencies? Can you post a list or screenshots?
     
    David Tibbets and spongella like this.
  14. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,197
    Likes Received:
    6,225
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    The Maverick LNBF is a Single Standard LO 10750. Use only the Standard LO 10750 setting in the receiver menu.

    You are still only receiving the same KU-band transponders and channels that are outputs by the LNB and travelling through the coax.

    Receivers are dumb and must be told what band is being scanned. The LO setting in the receiver simply calculates the intermediate frequency from the LNB and will display the correct downlink transponder frequency.

    If you select 5150, the KU transponders and channels are the same, but are incorrecy displayed as C-band frequencies. The Universal setting will scan the same channels twice and display different and incorrect KU-band transponder frequencies.
     
  15. spongella

    spongella SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    792
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Wow, snow in late April, bummer.
     
  16. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    Got it. So when I set it to universal freq scan doesn't particularly mean I'm seeing the right channel. I hate to bug you guys but another question. What I'm looking for are those unencrypted diginets that are on OTA channels. Those OTA sub channels I can't get in my location. I'm just a little too far from Chicago to pick up those sub channels. If I could pick them up, I'd be a happy camper. My guess is they're somewhere on c band and not so sure some of the sites are updated very often. I'd hate to dig up and put up a bigger dish only to find I can't pick them up.
     
  17. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    You MUST have a C-band dish to get those. They are on 97, 99, and 101w.

    However, Cozi tv is on Ku band 103w 11760 H DVB-S2 8PSK 30000 Fec-5/6 SID 7. You need 9.4 C/N (dB) to lock that signal, so IF you aim and tune well, you should be able to get that one with what you have right now.
     
    danristheman likes this.
  18. David Tibbets

    David Tibbets Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Freeport Illinois
    However, Cozi tv is on Ku band 103w 11760 H DVB-S2 8PSK 30000 Fec-5/6 SID 7. You need 9.4 C/N (dB) to lock that signal, so IF you aim and tune well, you should be able to get that one with what you have right now.[/QUOTE]

    Yeah. I've got the C band lnb. I just haven't found a dish big enough yet. Wondering how hard it would be to make one.
     
  19. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    You don't need a c-band dish or lnb for Cozi.

    As for making a large C-band dish, you are 40 years late, there's simply no need to do that any more. It's far more work and cost to make a dish that will probably not work very well, then to keep your eyes open and knock on some doors and ask them if you can have their old dish.

    Rehabbing a dish is a LOT less work.
     
    norman881 and danristheman like this.
  20. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    85w
    Plenty of those buds still around. Get with ku first then move up to c band. To start off small then move up. Please don't live an apartment or HOA against big dishes. David check out the whats up section on here. 97w c band and 101w has them too.
     
    norman881 likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...