New To Fta

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Pittsville

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 4, 2006
38N 75W
I am brand new to FTA but I used to subscribe to DTV long ago. One time I was receiving every other channel on DTV because I was using cheap defective coax.

I just got my FTA equipment and have been trying to find something to watch by hit and miss alignment. I taped the dish to a pole and I found a satellite (SBS6) but after moving the dish to the roof and pointing and tilting it over and over, I get nothing. The coax I'm using now is new, it looks good, it says it's RG6, but it's thinner than some other RG6 I have and I suspect it may have only foil, like the one that gave me trouble with the old dish.

Has anyone had any trouble with dish to receiver coax? I know it's important to use good coax. How likely is it that I could just aim in the general direction and find something? Could the problem and symptoms described in this thread be due to bad cable?

As long as its RG6 cable that should be good enough for now! With linear KU signals you have to be BANG on the satellite before you would get any signal quality.

Its best to pick a satellite to aim for, use a known LIVE TP. (transponder) and watch for signal QUALITY only as you point the dish. It may well be a good idea to get a small TV up at the dish while you are pointing the dish!

WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA Forum!

Thanks.

Thanks. I am waiting on a motor and when I get that I will get serious about making the mount plumb, and aiming the dish. I don't have a full complete opening to the southwest sky but there's a pretty big gap between two trees that I hope will offer a few different satellites.