New to FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

new2FTA

Original poster
Jul 29, 2006
I am looking into purchasing a FTA system and located several within eBay. I would like to get away from cable since I usually watch basic network channels (FOX, NBC...etc) and will use Netflix for my movies.

My question is how do I determine which system would meet my needs? I would imagine that I would want to explore wild feeds along with FTA. I really want to keep cost to a minimum since I am somewhat limited on the hours of TV that I watch.

I was reading that the best option is to use a motor with the dish to grab all available satellites.

One example of what I located within eBay is listed below:

http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZbabeebluee07QQhtZ-1

1-Traxis DBS-3500
FTA with blind search Receiver
1- hotdish 30 inch dish 75 cm
1-lnb 0.4 db

Just so you know, I am new to satellites and have limited knowledge.

Also, I have a DirectTV dish and 3 Hughes receivers(model GAEBO). Could these be used for anything? I would assume I need 1 FTA receiver per TV set unless I want to share same signal all over the house.

If someone could provide their opinion that would be great!

Thanks in advance!
Mike

new2FTA said:
My question is how do I determine which system would meet my needs? I would imagine that I would want to explore wild feeds along with FTA. I really want to keep cost to a minimum since I am somewhat limited on the hours of TV that I watch.

To determine what would be the best system you must get a good idea about what is up there that you want. http://www.lyngsat.com is a good place to start.
Bigger dish is better. I would go 80c or up. You can't go wrong with a 1m dish for the KU band.

I was reading that the best option is to use a motor with the dish to grab all available satellites.