Status
Please reply by conversation.

belias21

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 21, 2005
Charlotte, NC
I'm new to the whole HD thing...

Currently, I have D*, but nothing in HD. I ordered the HR10-250 and they will be installing it and my new dish on Saturday (2/18). Since there are no HD locals on the sat in my area yet (Ft. Lauderdale), I am getting the off-air antenna. I have yet to see one of these in person, and the only pic of it on D*'s site is tiny and I can't really see anything. Does this antenna mount on the same bracket as the dish, or is it typically mounted separately? Also, is this something that can be installed in the attic instead? Does anyone have any pics of a standard D* 3LNB dish + OTA install? I am very curious- I live in an area with an HOA and they can be picky sometimes, so I am hoping to have the antenna mount on the same bracket.

The guys that installed my system this week wanted to put the OTA on a seperate pole. It was not the type that snapped onto the rim of the dish. It might be different for you. I told the installer not to do that part and to take it off the work order. I am going to figure out someting else on my own.

belias21 said:
I'm new to the whole HD thing...

Currently, I have D*, but nothing in HD. I ordered the HR10-250 and they will be installing it and my new dish on Saturday (2/18). Since there are no HD locals on the sat in my area yet (Ft. Lauderdale), I am getting the off-air antenna. I have yet to see one of these in person, and the only pic of it on D*'s site is tiny and I can't really see anything. Does this antenna mount on the same bracket as the dish, or is it typically mounted separately? Also, is this something that can be installed in the attic instead? Does anyone have any pics of a standard D* 3LNB dish + OTA install? I am very curious- I live in an area with an HOA and they can be picky sometimes, so I am hoping to have the antenna mount on the same bracket.