Newbie 101

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Don Yenko

Original poster
Jul 16, 2014
Newbie here, looking for a quick education.
I currently have a HR21-700 and am having issues with the receiver freezing up and having to re-boot. I am having to do this more frequently and is getting to be a hassle. I have bought a used HR24-100 or 200 and one question is it a drop in unit to my system(of course need Direct to activate the HR24). I see all these threads showing switches and other parts with acronyms I am not familiar with. I think I have a 5LNB dish(but not sure), and two coax's coming to the HR21 through a pair of what I call filters on each coax. I only have the one TV connected.

Any help would be appreciated.

An HR24 would take the place of an HR21. If you have Whole Home DVR service, you would need to remove the DECA adapter that is connected to the HR21 as the HR24 has one built in.

Whether or not you could buy a used HR24 that DIRECTV would be willing to activate is an entirely different issue.

If the HR21 is leased (as most of them are), DIRECTV will replace it for free; of course you can't guarantee getting an HR24 from DIRECTV.

:welcome to Satelliteguys Don Yenko!

As harshness alluded to, Directv may not activate the HR24 for you if it is a leased unit instead of an owned one. Only a call to them can tell you the answer. If the issues you are having aren't fixable, Directv will replace the unit with no more than a shipping charge of $19.95.

I dont have a whole home DVR service, and I own the HR21. I already bought the HR24. The HR21 has 3 coax connections 2 input and one output(I use the HDMI out to the TV) the HR24 has only 2, I think an in and an out, do I ditch the filters and jut connect it direct to the coax from the dish? My relationship with direct is complicated, so I hope they will just de-activate the HR21 and activate the HR24.

:welcome to Satelliteguys Don Yenko!