Newbie Help - Hardware setup

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bubbablow

Original poster
Aug 19, 2004
OK here is what I have and what I want to do. I am new to this game and unsure of what can be done and not done.

Pansat 2500A - not sure of FW status, got it from a very frustrated friend. Plan on flashing to factory standards and clearing all channels out.

An old DTV 18" dish with LNB

An old 10' C-Band/KU band system. This was in use up to about a year ago when my IRD blew up.

A disqV ?? 4/1 switch.

I live out in the boonies and don't watch much TV, but would like to get more than the snowy 6 channels I get now. I am a member of NetFix so movies really don't matter :)

Here is what I would like to do. Hook up the C-Band and KU band BUD and a 18" dish. From reading the posts, it looks like I can get some nice radio stations off of one of the DBS SAT using the 18" dish.

The 18" seems fairly easy to hook up and go. The BUD I'm not sure about. The Pansat looks like it has the hook ups needed to use the mover on the dish. Can this unit really drive my dish? If so is it smart enough to know that SAT1 on the switch is a fixed 18" dish. SAT2 on the switch is a movable KU dish, and SAT3 on the switch is a movable C-Band?

Any comments, links to FAQs, etc would be great.

Thanks
BB

The 4x1 switch will do that
When you set up your install screen, there's a pot that says "DiSEqC" with 1,2,3,4 and off.

The 18 could be #1
The C part could be #2
The KU could be #3

Then when you select a channel, it knows where to go :)

I honestly don't know if the 2500 will run a C-band dish..my 1500 won't. :(

There is a ton of stuff free on C-Band...as an example, at 137 (G7), there are 6 TV stations from Anchorage, AK (CBS, NBC, ABC, etc) and tons of sports stuff on both C & Ku band

You are one lucky man to have C-Band :):)