Newbie looking for Telstar 5

Status
Please reply by conversation.

kamui09

Original poster
Oct 6, 2004
Hello world! I am new to FTA so I got plenty of questions. :D Starting out with a goal to retrieve Telstar 5 broadcasts, I picked up a Winegard DS-2076 and standard single LNB (ESC321). Its mounted onto a 3' pole stuck in a bucket of concrete (about 80 lbs) on my apartment balcony. I got it as level and plumb as humanly possible. Its now connected to a Twinhan 1020a with some RG6 cables. Now here comes the good part, I live in Anaheim, CA so I believe my Elevation and Azimuth for Telstar 5 is 41.276 and 113.62 (roughly accomodated for magnetic declination), respectively. I used the ProgFinder II program to look at the signal strength and quality strength. The best I could do was get 80% on signal strength. I get nothing on quality strength.

Any ideas??? :confused:

For Anaheim, CA I get the following
44.8 elevation
145.6 azimuth (subract between 10-15 for magnetic deviation)

signal strength doesnt mean anything. Its QUALITY that matters :)
Key thing to remember is KU is harder to get. When you get in the neighborhood, move it 1/4" at a time and wait 3-5 seconds beofre continuing.

I dont have a card, but some here do. They should be able to help from that point.

I found it from some site. It must be wrong. I'll give your elevations and azimuth a try.

If I get a signal strength, does that mean I am at least on the right track? I am at least hitting a satellite up there, right?

Also, I have a LNB question. Since this Winegard has a universal clamp, how far should it be sitting when I mount it? Should the neck be pulled all the way out (away from this dish) or all the way in? Am I suppose to have it pointing at about 7 o'clock for skew if I am standing in front of it and staring at it?

Thanks for the help.

I worked it out for SF. CA.

Elevation= 39 deg.
True Magnetic Azim.=127 deg.