Newbie - Package Question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

beartooth

Original poster
Feb 8, 2007
I'm a newbie to FTA, but have done lots of research. I just setup a big home theater and looking to do the final piece with FTA. We only get 5 OTA channels, and can't get FOX or ABC. We like Christian programming, which seems prevalent on FTA, so that's a good thing.

My question is that $400 seems to be a price point for a full system with receiver (multiple options, viewsat extreme seems a good one for blind scan, fast channel changing, etc.) motor, dual lnb's, remote, etc.

Does that seem like the "standard" price for this? I priced out piece by piece with ebay for grins, and there was only about a $30 difference with more risk (non authorized dealer.)

Any other places to get all of this stuff substantially cheaper or is that $400 about right?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome :wave
I just setup a big home theater and looking to do the final piece with FTA. We only get 5 OTA channels, and can't get FOX or ABC. We like Christian programming, which seems prevalent on FTA, so that's a good thing.
Well that’s good. There are a fair amount of Christian programming on FTA and as long as you don’t mind a ABC or Fox from a different area (unless you’re in the UP of Michigan, Beaumont TX or in Wyoming), you got those covered.

My question is that $400 seems to be a price point for a full system with receiver (multiple options, viewsat extreme seems a good one for blind scan, fast channel changing, etc.) motor, dual lnb's, remote, etc.
Not that the Viewsat is a bad receiver but its well documented the Viewsat & a motor do not play well. I would get a Coolsat, Fortec or Pansat (In my opinion)

Does that seem like the "standard" price for this? I priced out piece by piece with ebay for grins, and there was only about a $30 difference with more risk (non authorized dealer.)