Newbie question... need suggestion for OTA HD antenna

DssMigs

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 5, 2007
Bay Area, CA
Newbie here just getting into HD. I just bought a Samsung 40" LCD HDTV and I also just got a used Dish PVR 921. I want to hook-up an OTA antenna to my 921 to get my local HD channels.

My zip code is 94545. Antenna web shows that a good majority of the local broadcasting towers are at 280 degrees and about 21 miles from my location. There is one tower that is at 268 degrees, 18.6 miles away and is on VHF. All the others are UHF. The one tower at 268 is my local NBC station so I would really like to include it if possible.

Which OTA antenna would you guys recommend for my viewing needs....?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Last edited:
You are in a pretty strong signal area so you can probably get away just using an indoor omni-directional antenna. There are several stylish and decent ones you can pick up at Circuit City. A friend of mine uses the PHDTV3 at about a 20 mile range here in Austin with fairly good results. That's the easy route and I would start there if I were you because if it works, then your task is done. If it doesn't work then you can always return it and start down the more difficult path.

You are in a pretty strong signal area so you can probably get away just using an indoor omni-directional antenna. There are several stylish and decent ones you can pick up at Circuit City. A friend of mine uses the PHDTV3 at about a 20 mile range here in Austin with fairly good results. That's the easy route and I would start there if I were you because if it works, then your task is done. If it doesn't work then you can always return it and start down the more difficult path.

Hmmm... I may have to look into that PHDTV3. Don't know if I like the idea of having a set of rabbit ears though. :p